Book Avis hire cars in San Francisco

San Francisco, CA, United States
4 Oct — 11 Oct
Same drop-off
San Francisco, CA, United States
Tue 4/10
Noon
Tue 11/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in San Francisco

Economy₹ 4,216/day
Compact₹ 4,956/day
Intermediate₹ 5,095/day
Standard₹ 5,597/day
Full-size₹ 5,259/day
Minivan₹ 6,377/day
Premium₹ 4,624/day
Luxury₹ 6,425/day
Convertible₹ 6,805/day
Intermediate SUV₹ 4,714/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past hours.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Francisco

Overall rating7.6 GoodBased on 189 reviews
Cleanliness
8.2
Comfort
7.9
Overall
7.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.4
Value for money
7.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
30
16
8
18
1
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Cranky staff…. Customer service in fixing an issue was non existentReviewed 22 Aug 2022
review fromkayak
8.0
Good experience. Need to be careful as Tenderloin neighborhood is not the safest one.Reviewed 16 Aug 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Got to the address where I was supposed to pick the car up. It was the correct address of the booking, but they said I would have to go to another place entirely as the booking was held at a different unit. Got to the other unit and the staff weren't overly helpful or friendly. Using their mobile phones behind the counter while I was trying to collect my booking. I did get given an upgrade as they didn't have available the car that I had booked, which was good. However my card was also charged a sum of $250 which stayed on my account for a while before disappearing, which worried me that they then had charged me for the upgrade. I had already paid in full in advance. Then on return there was a change to our flights. It meant we would need to leave the car back a little earlier (not later). Still at the reasonable time of 9.30-9.40 am indtead of 12 noon. For doing this and taking the car a shorter time I was charged $154 fine. A number that feels completely picked out of the sky, and just preying on people. Considering how unreliable airlines have been following the pandemic with the ability to stick to airline schedules, I find this fine particularly disgusting. All it serves to do is give the company MORE time to have the car ready for the next person, as usually there is a problem that they don't have the car/car type you ordered. It wasn't my first disappointing car hire experience, and I'm sure it won't be my last. Overall, the best thing about it was that the cost still was at what I'd consider a good level (for the initial booking, I in no way am referring to the extortionate fine). Would not use Avis again on principle, even if other companies would do the same thing. I just don't think they deserve anymore of my money.Reviewed 2 Aug 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
It took 3 hours to pick up the car 😩. And then the car I reserved was not available. The agent was great - but things are clearly broken at Avis.Reviewed 22 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
2 hrs queuing at the airport for the car. Walk down to the car and find someone else sitting in the car - it had been double allocated. Get another car - more time wasted. Notice an electric fault after a couple of days. Have to go and excahnge for another car. Then looked on AVIS website and notice I've been given a smaller car than the one I ordered (so many different models of SUV in the USA had no idea which was small/standard size until I checked online). Call customer service and get sent to a site 20/30miles away only to be told when we arrived they only gets cars once they've been ordered - no spare stock. Have to drive another 30miles to an airport location to finally pickup the car size I had paid for! Towards the end of the rental, the 'Requires Service' light came on, then while in Yosemite the 'low engine oil' light came on - had to find a service station to top up the engine oil!Reviewed 13 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
the check in and check out were a breeze. i wish the smudges on the console buttons and windows were wiped down, but it was otherwise clean.Reviewed 11 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
I didn't have any negative experiences with the car or the rental location, but I do wish it had been made clearer that the location was non-airport. I rented under the impression that it was, and then had to travel to pick it up when I arrived in San Fran.Reviewed 21 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Could not even get my car because the line was miles longReviewed 21 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Very efficient front desk help.Reviewed 19 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Ordered a “normal” car and they rented us a hybrid. With gas at $7 a gallon the difference paid for the car rental. Thank you, Avis!Reviewed 4 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The company should figure out something for international travelers with debit cards (and no Social Security number)!!Reviewed 28 May 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
We had to wait over an hour and a half at the Avis counter even though we had a reservation !! When we returned the car, we were charged quite a bit more than the contract! The checkin person, when we returned the car,charged us for over 1/2 tank of gas though we returned the car full !!!!! We had to see the front agent to get the charge corrected…. Another delay!Reviewed 24 May 2022
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San Francisco?

780 Mcdonnell Road, Avis car hires

Address

780 Mcdonnell Road

Hours

Friday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Monday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 650 877 6780

Address

675 Post Street

Hours

Friday07:00 - 17:00
Sunday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Monday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 929 2555

Address

500 Beach Street, Suite 120

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 441 4141

Address

333 O'farrell Street

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 292 4045

Address

821 Howard Street

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 227 4227

Address

5 Embarcadero Center

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 395 4758

Good to know

Most popular location

780 Mcdonnell Road

Average price

₹ 9,964/day

Good deal

₹ 7,882/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San Francisco

  • 25% of our users found car hire from Avis in San Francisco for ₹ 7,882 or less.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San Francisco