Book Avis hire cars in San Diego

San Diego, CA, United States
15 Dec — 22 Dec
Same drop-off
San Diego, CA, United States
Thu 15/12
Noon
Thu 22/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in San Diego

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
Minivan
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Diego

Overall rating6.9 GoodBased on 273 reviews
Cleanliness
7.5
Comfort
7.5
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.9
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
110
39
32
71
8
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Great car at a good price. Thank you.Reviewed 6 Dec 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Had to pay an extra charge for third party liability insurance (TP). This extra charge wasn't mentioned on the Kayak website and was not included in the Allianz extra coverage (FDW, or full liability waiver) that I purchased.Reviewed 6 Dec 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Drop off was pretty easy. Pick up was not. First, the car was dirty. The windows had not been wiped down and I had to do that myself in order to see clearly. The vehicle came with an odd charger that had to be plugged in, in order to connect to CarPlay. The local Avis provided that charger for me after I returned to the lot to let them know that I was not able to connect to CarPlay via Bluetooth. The car also was not all the way filled with gas. It was supposed to be for when I picked it up and it was not.Reviewed 31 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
Car was damaged and required exchangingReviewed 3 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
When we got there they told us that there was no cars available for the price that was "d and we ended up paying about $200 more. The car we were given was very uncomfortable.Reviewed 3 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Had no carsReviewed 29 Sep 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
They did not honor my reservation because I missed my flight.Reviewed 5 Sep 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
Rep asked me if I wanted LDW and I said no but he put it anyway ..didn't notice it when signing trusting him and only realized when returning.. not goodReviewed 27 Aug 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Charged me extra when I returned the car. Terrible customer service at the San Diego location and at Phoenix airport location where I had to swap out the car due to flat tire. Very unaccommodating. The SAN location would not give me an answer as to why I was charged more than what my Kayak booking was supposed to be. Told me "they don't know" and then just hung up on me. Still don't have an answer. PHX location did not have a compact car available for me when I swapped the car out. I specifically had a compact car to save on gas costs during my roadtrip. Just got a lot of shrugged shoulders and no compensation or any other options given to me. Customer service/roadside assistance on the phone initially was very unhelpful when I was stuck on the side of the road with a flat tire during my roadtrip. Kept telling me I would have to stay overnight to wait until a location opened up to swap the car out or pay out of pocket to get the tire fixed. I had to call back and speak with another representative who was then helpful in giving me options to find another location that was still open to get the car swapped out. It's quite exhausting to have to play games on the phone and call back until you get someone that is willing to do their job when you're stuck on the side of the road in the desert heat in the middle of summer at dusk on a roadtrip that has a specific time limit to meet Overall, not a great experience with AVIS. I've not had an experience like this renting a car before. Just seems like customer service overall has plummeted.Reviewed 23 Aug 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The car could have had road worthy tires, current registration and been clean inside.Reviewed 10 Aug 2022
review fromkayak
8.0
Price was good. Pick up was not professional. Drop off at LAX was easy but shuttle driver showed no interest on service to clients. Didn’t bother to direct people about their gate drop off.Reviewed 31 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
I booked a mid size car, stated as equivalent to a Toyota Camry and was given an economy Toyota Corolla. Had I known about the bait and switch I would have booked an economy car for cheaper price. And no there was no shortages of mid size car.Reviewed 25 Jul 2022
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San Diego?

1110 Torrey Pines Road Suite H, Avis car hires

Address

1110 Torrey Pines Road Suite H

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 858 454 4621

Address

3355 Admiral Boland Way

Hours

Friday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Monday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 688 5000

Address

4550 La Jolla Village Drive

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday10:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 858 450 6553

Address

500 Hotel Circle North

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 574 5377

Address

1670 Kettner Boulevard Suite 1

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 231 7137

Address

3890 Valley Centre Dr Ste 103

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 858 755 0400

Address

7815 Balboa Avenue

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 858 974 8630

Address

640 Broadway

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 544 0438

Address

Cross Border Xpress - 2745 Otay Pacific Dr

Hours

Friday07:00 - 23:59
Wednesday07:00 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:59
Tuesday07:00 - 23:59
Monday07:00 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:59
Thursday07:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 588 1309

Address

2790 Kurtz St Ste 1

Hours

Friday07:00 - 23:59
Wednesday07:00 - 23:59
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 23:59
Monday07:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 220 4920

Address

8720 Miramar Road

Hours

Friday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Monday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00

Phone

+1 858 271 0018

Good to know

Most popular location

3355 Admiral Boland Way

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San Diego

  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in San Diego are around -4% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San Diego