Book Avis hire cars in North Charleston

North Charleston, SC, United States
2 Feb — 9 Feb
Same drop-off
North Charleston, SC, United States
Thu 2/2
Noon
Thu 9/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in North Charleston

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
Minivan
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in North Charleston

Overall rating6.1 OkayBased on 34 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
7.0
Overall
6.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.2
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
4
1
4
2
0
10
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Long lines at Avis in Charleston for cars that were not completely serviced. Caution lights not attended to for low air in tires. Will use them again in the next go especially for the price paid.Reviewed 14 Nov 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Huge line at pickup. Car was not very clean and controls were tough to navigate.Reviewed 12 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
Waited almost 3 hour to pick up the rental from Charleston airport.Reviewed 25 Apr 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Spend 3 hours waiting in line to pickup a vehicle. Single person was handling reservations process at the counter with large number of customers waiting in line. The second attendant didn’t arrive until 9pm. Also, didn’t receive the type of car I reserved. I either had to wait for the my reservation to get prepared (cleaned) or take what was available. Didn’t want to wait any longer do went for “what is ready” option. Daly rental rate was better than the competition, but after spending 3 hours waiting in line, one starts questioning the worthiness of the saving.Reviewed 18 Apr 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
My pick up - I had a reservation - required my standing in a line in the Charleston airport for over 2 1/2 hours . The process was tiring - lots of unhappy customers . When we finally were assigned a car - we went to the lot to pick up , whereby things were even more confusing . Employees were not accommodating and did not seem to know what was going on . It was an extremely frustrating experience , which I have never encountered with a rental car company - ever - I’m sad to say . The only downside of our entire trip .Reviewed 28 Mar 2022
review fromcheapflights
4.0
The staff were friendly and the car was nice. However, I had to wait over two hours in line to get my rental car.Reviewed 27 Mar 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
When I picked up the car, the car I booked and was assigned at the counter was not available when I got to the garage. The attendant then stated that he had rented it to someone else and tried to give me a pickup truck. I explained that I wouldn’t be able to afford the fuel in a truck for the length of my trip. I was then given a mid size sedan (I originally booked a hybrid), and the smell of cigarette smoke was absolutely overwhelming. I was already behind schedule due to the car mix up, so I accepted the car, but I had to drive with the windows down for the duration of my trip. I called Avis and got a partial refund, but I would consider this a poor to mediocre experience all the way around. Customer service on the phone was very good, but the pick up location service was terrible.Reviewed 25 Mar 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The line to pick up the car took 45 minutes because only one person was working the desk, even after pre-registering. The car assigned to us smelled like cigarettes and marijuana smoke, and changing was not possible because when I returned to the desk, the line was twice as long and still only one person was working. The car had almost 60,000 miles on it, tires that were nearly bald and no windshield washer fluid, which we found out at night with wet roads. I will do everything possible to avoid renting from Avis again.Reviewed 27 Feb 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Found out when I got there I needed a credit card for the security deposit; and I do not have a credit card. I was not aware of that restriction; and if you visit the Avis website, it will say "in most cases" but never mentions which locations require a credit card. So I ended up taking a Lyft to my destination; which in turn cost me more money.Reviewed 30 Jan 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast and easyReviewed 22 Oct 2021
review fromkayak
5.9
No cruise control or could not get it to work.Reviewed 13 Sep 2021
review fromkayak
1.9
Interaction with any and all staff at both pick-up and drop off was absolutely terrible. They are so understaffed that the line is huge and at the drop off almost every checkin person had an issue with their scanner. The last time I will rent from Avis.Reviewed 1 Aug 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in North Charleston?

5500 International Blvd, Avis car hires

Address

5500 International Blvd

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Friday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Tuesday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Thursday00:00 - 01:0007:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 01:0007:00 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Wednesday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00

Phone

+1 843 767 7030

Address

7685 Northwoods Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 843 572 3190

Good to know

Most popular location

5500 International Blvd

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in North Charleston

  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in North Charleston are around 22% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in North Charleston