Book Avis hire cars in Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa
5 Dec — 12 Dec
Same drop-off
Johannesburg, South Africa
Mon 5/12
Noon
Mon 12/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Johannesburg

Overall rating6.2 GoodBased on 2 reviews
Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
4.0
Overall
4.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
8.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
8
3
2
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.0
Pros:Drop off was OK, but no closing invoice was issued when I dropped off. I was promised this would be emailed, but this did not materialiseCons:Issue closing invoice on drop-offReviewed 24 Jan 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Make sure u know what u are getting!!Pros:Friendly service but slow as it’s africa! Didn’t get the car I was expecting so had to upgrade half way through rental.Reviewed 14 Jan 2018
review fromkayak
6.8
Cons:After we told them no insurance they put it on the paper work then when we pointed it out he had to start the paperwork over again. Originally issued a car with no gas and smelled like cigarettes badly. Had to unpack our backs and go all the way back to the rental center. No apology. Just a silent reissue of keys. Drop off was chaotic. No return recipet was issued.Reviewed 3 Jun 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Watch Your Bank/Credit StatementPros:The car was clean.Cons:You will get charged unexplained fees that will double the quoted Kayak rate, including a "fuel service fee" that no one will disclose to you until it shows up on your receipt and credit card statement. I will not be renting with Avis again.Reviewed 7 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast , eficient and friendly service.Pros:Good value for money.Cons:NothingReviewed 27 Feb 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:It was a good car for the category I have selected.Cons:The car had some noise in the wheels during the whole renting days, which I could not identify. I believe that if the car has gone through some check before being delivered, this slight problem could be fixed.Reviewed 2 Feb 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Another great experience at Avis-OR TamboPros:Prompt, efficient pick-up and drop-off, kind service, well-maintained, clean vehicle.Cons:It was hard to find the fuel station at OR Tambo Airport to refuel, and since I was running against the clock, I couldn't. But the Avis staff assured me that they'd handle it.Reviewed 4 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience at Avis JNB AirportPros:Fantastic pick up experience.Cons:Everything was fine - no complaints at all.Reviewed 26 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
4.4
Long lines and staff with serious attitudeCons:Lengthy wait. Staff too busy chatting with each other to assist. No air conditioning in the premises.Reviewed 12 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Professional-looking but service can be improvedPros:The car was clean. When we rented the car, the ladies at the counter took time to explain where we were not insured (we only got PAI and CAD), which we appreciated, since we would probably spend more if we didn't have the extra insurance they promoted at the counter.Cons:We weren't too happy with the car selection. We reserved a Hyundai Accent (or similar), and the car we ended up with had really slow acceleration (VW Vito), which I don't think is at part with the Accent's. When we returned the car, the guys who received it said we would get our invoice within 5 working days, despite us insisting for our invoice. We had to wait for it from the man at the counter.Reviewed 4 Nov 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy AvisPros:Good clean basic carCons:NothingReviewed 21 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Efficient Car RentalPros:The staff were friendly and efficient. Total no-hassle car rental. I'd rent from them again in a heartbeat.Cons:Nothing against Avis, but the Chevy Spark compact option is tiny and drives like it is being powered by three stressed-out sprinting hamsters. Overall though, a very good experience. Just size up on the car if you want any power on the highways.Reviewed 15 Oct 2016
review fromkayak

Other suppliers in Johannesburg scored

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Johannesburg?

Or Tambo Int Apt, Avis car hires

Address

Or Tambo Int Apt

Hours

Saturday06:00 - 22:00
Sunday06:00 - 22:00
Friday06:00 - 22:00
Thursday06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday06:00 - 22:00
Monday06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday06:00 - 22:00

Phone

+27 11 573 5000

Address

204 Columbine Avenue

Hours

Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Friday08:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 12:00
Tuesday08:00 - 12:00
Monday08:00 - 12:00
Wednesday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+27 11 496 1235

Good to know

Most popular location

Or Tambo Int Apt

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

₹ 3,330/day

Good deal

₹ 2,454/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • 25% of our users found car hire from Avis in Johannesburg for ₹ 2,454 or less.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in Johannesburg are around 30% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg